Customer reviews for WD WD SmartWare

WD WD SmartWare

Automatic backup software
Overall rating:
2.461 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
7
4 out of 11(36%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for WD SmartWare
Review 1 for WD SmartWare
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedMarch 5, 2014
Ease of installation 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Can no longer backup to external drive

fromStockbridge GA
Length Of Ownership:Longer than 1 year
Primary Product Use:Home
Since installing a SmartWare update I am no longer able to access the Backup tab or select my WD external drive as a target. The only option for Backup target is Drop Box, which requires a fee.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for WD SmartWare
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Ease of installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Product needs customizable file types to be of any good

fromDenver
Length Of Ownership:1 year or less
Primary Product Use:Home & office
I'm an application developer using Visual Studio .Net and the software does not back up all of the source code for my development projects. It just doesn't make sense to build a backup application and not provide a tiny interface to allow the user to select the file types to be backed up. At least even allowing a user to add an extension to the existing list is critical. I was excited to use the product but after my 1st backup and checking my files for restore I found that my most crucial files were not even backed up. Bummer.. have to use something else
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for WD SmartWare
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 26, 2013
Ease of installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the Dropbox backup

Primary Product Use:Home
This is my first time using Smartware on my computer. It was quite easy to install and start my backup. My Dropbox account was running out of space so Smartware is great to backup my files in my account.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for WD SmartWare
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedDecember 10, 2013
Ease of installation 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Loses External USB Drive (Pro Version)

fromGreensboro, NC
Length Of Ownership:1 month or less
Primary Product Use:Home & office
Will not stay linked to external USB drive (WD brand). Virtually every night, program loses sight of the drive, as if it does not exist. Thus, the program is virtually useless for continuous backup, which is why I installed it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for WD SmartWare
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedDecember 8, 2013
Ease of installation 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5

If you like viruses, you'll love this program.

fromTucson, AZ, USA
Length Of Ownership:1 month or less
Primary Product Use:Home
If you like viruses, you'll love this program. It will run in the background and SLOW DOWN your computer. All I want to do is back up personal files - photos, music, documents, etc. Pure and simple. Does it really have to be so complicated and automatic? This program (WD Smartware) was extremely disappointing. It takes over like Turbo Tax does - always lurking in the background hogging memory. ... Press CTRL-ALT-DEL to see just how much!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for WD SmartWare
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedOctober 22, 2013

Could not connect remotly

fromGreensboro, NC, USA
Length Of Ownership:6 months or less
Primary Product Use:Home
Not able to use it remotely , my grand daugther is a computer geek and she could not figure it out
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Response from WDBy KWTSOctober 29, 2013
We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. The remote access ability depends on the drive model that you have. Some drives are network drives, which allows remote access and it needs to be connected to the router. And other drives are just normal external hard drives which are used connected to the computer. We would like to have the opportunity to assist you, please contact WD Support http://ow.ly/lPmAR so we can help you with the remote access setup. Thank you!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for WD SmartWare
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedJune 12, 2013
Ease of installation 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Misleading

fromWY
Length Of Ownership:6 months or less
Primary Product Use:Home
The box shows all the neat things this drive and SmartWare does. It was the deciding factor. I looked at specs, seen that it said will work on Mac. So I purchase it and later find that this software show on box is Windows only, won't even work on the Mac!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for WD SmartWare
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedMay 29, 2013
Ease of installation 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good backup software for Windows

fromIrvine, CA, USA
Length Of Ownership:Longer than 1 year
Primary Product Use:Office
I use this for my Windows backup in office and works great so far.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for WD SmartWare
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedMay 28, 2013
Ease of installation 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5

UPDATE TO: It's Got a Mind of Its Own

fromSammamish, WA, USA
Length Of Ownership:Longer than 1 year
Primary Product Use:Home & office
This is an update to my original review of May 26, 2013.
I started over and reinstalled SmartWare and was able to get it to work as designed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for WD SmartWare
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedMay 26, 2013
Ease of installation 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It's Got a Mind of Its Own

fromsammamish, wa
Length Of Ownership:Longer than 1 year
Primary Product Use:Home & office
Installed it and then had to go through a firmware and software upgrade.
Once I got it fully installed it would not let me backup my C drive to my external Passport drive. The only backup target it would show me as options were DropBox (which requires a premium account upgrade).
The BackUp menu tab was ghosted out so I never could select it to set up a manual or automated backup.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for WD SmartWare
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMay 14, 2013
Ease of installation 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best automated backup softtware

fromcolumbia, SC
Length Of Ownership:1 month or less
Primary Product Use:Home & office
This is a great product. Version 2.0.1 of this software allows one to backup data to any external drive attached via USB 2.0 or USB 3.0. It also allows one to backup to a cloud drive. Currently it only supports dropbox.
I wish it supported other services such as, box, sugarsync and sky drive, but it does not support currently.
Also, please note that, it does not support a flash drive for backup destination even if you format it as NTFS drive. The technical support told me if format it NTFS then I can Use it as a target drive to backup. Later on, Technical support on a second call to them told me that it was not so and thanked me for bringing it to their attention.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for WD SmartWare
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedMay 10, 2013
Ease of installation 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product was disappointing.

fromHayden, AL 35079, USA
Length Of Ownership:Longer than 1 year
Primary Product Use:Home & office
This product was disappointing. Perhaps I did not have it set up correctly, although installation seemed very easy. It basically took over my computer and I seemingly had no control over it. I ended up removing it from my computer. I will probably try to reinstall it later at some point and give it a second chance.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for WD SmartWare
Customer avatar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMay 9, 2013
Ease of installation 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5

SmartWare Pro

fromCalifornia, USA
Length Of Ownership:3 months or less
Primary Product Use:Home
The SmartWare Pro backup software support backup and retrieve functionality to Dropbox and 3rd Party external storage drives.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.